Deaths in CustodyWork in progressIn progress
California

At least 8,780 people have died in custody in California

1,550 of them are recorded here one by one, 1,393 by name. Another 7,230 are known only as numbers: deaths the official yearly counts report, for the same years, beyond the people recorded here.

At least 108 people have died in custody in California so far in 2026. The most recent named here is Richard Buchanan, who died on October 20, 2026 at Kern Valley State Prison.

Each dot is one of them, held in a jail, prison or lockup, or executed by the state. Some died after abuse by officers; others from withdrawal, overdose or untreated illness; many by suicide. Almost all of them show the state’s neglect of the people in its custody.

This is an undercount: many deaths are never made public, and older records are hard to find.

Records go back as far as 1851 and are current as of October 22, 2026Get email alerts for California

Their stories

0 people, most recent first. Choose a name, or a dot on the map.

    Their names

    When they died

    One mark per person, by the year they died. Choose the box at the side to see every decade. Coverage is uneven: recent deaths come mostly from local news since 2000, older ones from official lists and historical newspapers, so the shape shows what was recorded as much as how many people died.

    What death counts show

    Two sources count deaths in California's state prisons each year, but not who died: the U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, as the state reported them to it, and, through 2020, researchers at UC Irvine, from the state's prison records, which they obtained through their own public records requests. Where both give a year, the larger count is shown. Most of those deaths, especially from illness, never appear in the news, so far fewer are recorded here. The gap is people still to be identified.

    The federal series ends in 2019, and the UC Irvine study in 2020; neither has been updated since.

    020040060020012005201020152020498 reported97 recorded020040060020012005201020152020498 reported97 recorded

    Sources: U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, Mortality in State and Federal Prisons, 2001–2019; Excess Mortality in U.S. Prisons During the COVID-19 Pandemic (Sugie et al., 2023). Official counts are deaths in state prisons only; county jails report to no central agency.

    YearDeaths countedRecorded here
    2020498 UC Irvine97
    2019403 UC Irvine37
    2018462 UC Irvine34
    2017394 UC Irvine21
    2016339 UC Irvine20
    2015363 UC Irvine21
    2014324 UC Irvine19
    2013371 UC Irvine22
    2012368 BJS10
    2011388 BJS12
    2010414 BJS11
    2009395 BJS15
    2008371 BJS8
    2007395 BJS8
    2006424 BJS3
    2005366 BJS8
    2004348 BJS4
    2003333 BJS2
    2002337 BJS1
    2001287 BJS4

    Where the most deaths are recorded

    The facilities in California with the most deaths recorded here. Each has its own page, with everyone recorded as dying there; see all facilities.

    1. San Quentin State Prison 98 deaths
    2. California State Prison, Sacramento 48 deaths
    3. Kern Valley State Prison 43 deaths
    4. San Diego Central Jail 43 deaths
    5. Santa Rita Jail 42 deaths

    Where these records come from

    Each bar is a source and the years its records cover. Sources checked on a schedule are searched again for new records; the others were collected once.

    1. Historical newspapers1851–1963 · Searched once · Library of Congress digitized newspapers, searched for people taken from jails and officers and killed
      1851 to 1963
    2. 1980 to today
    3. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Inmates Executed 1978 to Present1992–2006 · Checked every three months · From a list that covers 1992 to today
      1992 to 2006
    4. Local news2000–today · Searched again every night · News coverage searched county by county and year by year
      2000 to today
    5. Official yearly counts (BJS)2001–2019 · Checked every month · Totals only; the agency does not publish names
      2001 to 2019
    6. 2003 to today
    7. Yearly counts compiled by UC Irvine researchers2013–2020 · · Totals only, from state prison records (Sugie et al., Excess Mortality in U.S. Prisons, 2023)
      2013 to 2020
    8. 2025 to today

    What these deaths have cost taxpayers

    These deaths have cost taxpayers in California at least $241 million: the amount governments have agreed or been ordered to pay the families and estates of at least 65 people recorded here, in settlements and court awards reported in the news, and private contractors at least $12 million more. Families sued over at least 204 of these deaths. Many suits end with no amount made public, and many settlements are kept confidential, so the true cost is higher.

    PersonPaid byYearAmount
    Edward BronsteinState of California2023$24 million
    William Hayden SchuckSan Diego County2025$16 million
    Hayden SchuckSan Diego County2025$16 million
    Elisa SernaSan Diego County2024$14 million
    Richard Matus Jr.Riverside County (court award)2026$14 million
    Randall Scott JohnsonShasta County$13 million
    Martin HarrisonAlameda County2015$8.3 million
    Martin HarrisonCorizon Health2015$8.3 million
    Nicholas BilsSan Diego County2022$8.1 million
    Salvador Jesus GarciaRiverside County$7.5 million
    Christopher ZumwaltRiverside County2024$7.5 million
    Maurice MonkAlameda County$7 million
    Jose Banda PichardoImperial County2024$5.5 million
    Christian MadrigalAlameda County$5 million
    Steven NeurothMendocino County$5 million
    Andrew HollandSan Luis Obispo County$5 million
    Michael WilsonSan Diego County2024$5 million
    Randall J. Carrier IIILos Angeles County$4.5 million
    Lester Daniel MarroquinSan Diego County2025$4 million
    Michael TyreeSanta Clara County2016$3.6 million
    Shaylene GravesState of California$3.5 million
    Joshua James CamposOrange County (court award)2025$3.3 million
    Sean WhitingOrange County$3 million
    Daniel SissonSan Diego County (court award)2014$3 million
    Keith BachSan Diego County$3 million
    David Anthony CrossSanta Cruz County2008$3 million
    Mark Pajas Sr.Monterey County$2.9 million
    Sandra Lee VelaMonterey County$2.9 million
    Maurice MonkWellpath$2.5 million
    Rafael Ramirez LaraMonterey County$2.5 million
    Bernard VictorianneSan Diego County$2.3 million
    Tamario SmithSanta Cruz County2024$2.2 million
    Elizabeth GauntLake County2018$2 million
    John HortonLos Angeles County2016$2 million
    Antonio BillanteMonterey County$2 million
    Rodrick Roman CastroState of California$1.9 million
    Robert RobinsonRiverside County$1.8 million
    Adam Preston AdamsSan Bernardino County2026$1.8 million
    Eric LobergLos Angeles County2017$1.7 million
    Austin LosorelliLos Angeles County$1.6 million
    Mark Pajas Sr.Monterey County (court award)$1.6 million
    Jeremy LumSan Joaquin County2016$1.6 million
    Erika RochaState of California$1.5 million
    Antonio ThomasSacramento County$1.5 million
    Norman Fisher, Jr.Sacramento County$1.4 million
    Joshua Claypolenot reported$1.1 million
    Bertram HiscockYuba County2018$1 million
    Ivan OrtizSan Diego County2021$1 million
    Luis Andrew MartinezSanta Clara County2009$1 million
    Juan Carlos ChavezCounty of Monterey$1 million
    Elisa Sernaunnamed medical contractor2024$1 million
    Amanda SloanSanta Cruz County2016$1 million
    Matthew MedinaCounty of Monterey2024$875,000
    Larra GillisMonterey County and California Forensic Medical Group$825,000
    Larra GillisMonterey County and California Forensic Medical Group$800,000
    Nathan PrasadSutter County$775,000
    Joseph Damien DuranState of California2016$750,000
    Joseph Damien DuranAmador County2016$750,000
    Michael John PrinceSacramento County$650,000
    Brian DebbsSacramento County2025$600,000
    Carlos Patino RegaladoCounty of Monterey2024$500,000
    Name not reportedOrange County$480,000
    Jessie Andrew BarrientosSan Benito County$450,000
    Lyle WoodwardSan Diego County$400,000
    Delion JohnsonSacramento County$400,000
    Jacob ParentiMonterey County$385,000
    Jacob ParentiMonterey County$365,000
    Wakiesha WilsonCity of Los Angeles2017$298,000
    Robert LubsenJefferson County$80,000
    Cody CatanzariteSacramento County$50,000
    Kevin Lee McLaughlinSan Luis Obispo County2020$41,850

    How deaths in custody are reported in California

    Since 1961, California law has required every law enforcement agency and every state or local correctional facility to report each death in its custody in writing to the Attorney General within 10 days, and those reports are public records.12 The law now also requires an agency to update its report within 10 days when new information comes in, such as the manner and means of death.1 The California Department of Justice's Criminal Justice Statistics Center keeps the reports and publishes them on its OpenJustice site as the Death in Custody and Arrest-Related Deaths dataset. It has one row for each death since 2005, giving the reporting agency, county, the person's race, gender and age, custody status, date of death, where the death happened, and the manner and means of death.34 The published file does not include names.5 Records back to 1980 are kept in an archive file.26

    The California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) runs the state prisons. Medical care in them has been under a federal receiver since 2006, and the receiver's agency, California Correctional Health Care Services, reviews every death in a state prison and publishes a yearly analysis with counts by cause. It counted 409 deaths in 2024.7 CDCR announces in news releases the deaths it is investigating as homicides and the deaths of people under a death sentence, and it keeps a named list of every person under a death sentence who has died since 1978, with the date and cause.89 I have not found a CDCR list that names everyone who dies in its prisons.

    California's county jails are run by sheriffs, in 57 jail systems.10 Since January 2023, Penal Code section 10008 has also required the agency in charge of a jail or prison to post on its own website, within 10 days of a death, the agency, county, facility and place in the facility, the person's race, gender and age, the date, the custody status, and the manner and means of death. It does not require the person's name. Since 2025 the section has explicitly covered juveniles, and deaths in medical facilities while a person is in custody.111213 The Board of State and Community Corrections links to the death postings of 33 sheriffs' offices.14 Its In-Custody Death Review Division, created by Senate Bill 519, reviews the local investigation of each jail death since July 1, 2024, once that investigation is finished. It makes public recommendations, but it cannot make a sheriff follow them.15

    People held by U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) in California are covered by ICE's own death reports, which it posts by name for each death in its custody.16 Since 2017, state law has also allowed the Attorney General to inspect immigration detention facilities in California and report on their conditions.17

    What has changed

    1. 1933On the night of November 26, a crowd of thousands broke into the Santa Clara County jail in San Jose, dragged out Thomas Thurmond and John Holmes, and hanged them in St. James Park across the street. Governor James Rolph publicly approved of the lynching.18 A historical marker in the park calls it California's last lynching.19
    2. 1961California began requiring agencies to report every death in custody to the Attorney General.2
    3. 1992-2006California resumed executions on April 21, 1992, and executed at least 13 people at San Quentin through January 17, 2006.9 From 1893 through 1967 the state had executed at least 501 people, at San Quentin and Folsom.20
    4. 2006In April, a federal court put medical care in California's prisons under a receiver. At the time, roughly one person a week was estimated to die from malpractice or neglect.7
    5. 2011On May 23, in Brown v. Plata, the U.S. Supreme Court upheld an order to reduce crowding in California's prisons, citing the uncontested finding that a person in them "needlessly dies every six to seven days" because of failures in medical care.21
    6. 2019On March 13, Governor Gavin Newsom ordered a moratorium on executions for the 737 people then on death row and closed the execution chamber at San Quentin.22
    7. 2020-2021California Correctional Health Care Services counted 141 COVID-19 deaths in state prisons in 2020 and 90 in 2021.7 At San Quentin, at least 28 people died of COVID-19 in the three months after 122 people were moved there from the California Institution for Men in Chino on May 30, 2020; the state Inspector General called the transfers "deeply flawed."23
    8. 2022On February 3, the California State Auditor reported that at least 185 people died in San Diego County's jails from 2006 through 2020 and that the Sheriff's Department had failed to prevent and respond to the deaths; it also found that some of the failures came from statewide jail standards too weak to keep people safe.24 By the Department of Justice's count, at least 215 people died in California's county jails that year, the most since its current records begin.105
    9. 2023The law requiring jails and prisons to post each death on their websites took effect in January.1213 On July 1, the state's Division of Juvenile Justice closed its last facilities and youth custody passed to the counties.2 Governor Newsom signed Senate Bill 519, creating a state office to review deaths in local jails.15
    10. 2024By May 28, everyone held on San Quentin's death row had been moved to other prisons.25 On July 1, Senate Bill 519 took effect, and deaths in local jails from then on became subject to review by the Board of State and Community Corrections.15
    11. 2025-2026At least three men held at the Adelanto ICE Processing Center died between September 2025 and February 2026. In a July 2025 inspection, the Attorney General's office had found inadequate medical care and too few staff, after the number of people held there rose from seven in 2023 to 1,570 in 2025.17

    How far the official numbers can be trusted

    The statewide dataset is only as complete as agencies' own reports. The Department of Justice says it collects the reports but does not investigate them, and that the data are complete only to the extent that agencies met their duty to report.4 In 2023 it wrote that it had no monthly zero-reporting process, so it learns of a death only if an agency reports it, and that agencies were not then required to send follow-up information when a first report gave a detail as unknown or pending.2 The number of recent deaths still listed as pending has grown: in the May 2026 file, the manner of death was pending for 177 of the 710 deaths in 2025 and 191 of the 731 in 2024, against three in 2014.5

    The dataset also misses deaths the state carried out itself. CDCR lists 13 executions at San Quentin from 1992 to 2006, but the Department of Justice's files record an execution on only nine of those dates; they show none for the executions of January 2002, January 2005, December 2005 and January 2006.965 For state prisons as a whole, the Department of Justice's yearly counts and the receiver's are close but not the same: 462 and 452 deaths in 2018, 499 and 492 in 2020, 396 and 409 in 2024.57

    Public posting by sheriffs has been uneven. A Senate committee analysis cited an audit by community groups that found at least 174 deaths in custody made public in 2023 by sheriffs' offices or the news; 21 of them had not been reported to the Attorney General, and another 19 that were reported to the Attorney General had never been made public. Many postings left out the location of death, the person's race or their custody status.13 The author of the 2022 posting law also cited research finding that about half of deaths caused by law enforcement officers were misclassified in the state's death records.12

    Notes

    1. California Government Code section 12525, as amended by Stats. 2024, ch. 69 (AB 3092) (California Legislative Information, archived April 3, 2025). ↩
    2. California Department of Justice, "California's Federal Death in Custody Reporting Act (DCRA) Implementation Plan," August 2023. ↩
    3. California Department of Justice, OpenJustice, "Death in Custody & Arrest-Related Deaths" (dataset). ↩
    4. California Department of Justice, Criminal Justice Statistics Center, "Death in Custody: Data Set Overview and History" (context document), revised June 2026. ↩
    5. California Department of Justice, "Death in Custody, 2005-2025" (DeathInCustody_2005-2025.xlsx), data extracted May 10, 2026. ↩
    6. California Department of Justice, deaths in custody raw data, 1980-2015 (archive file, May 14, 2016). ↩
    7. Kent Imai, California Correctional Health Care Services, "Analysis of 2024 California Correctional Health Care Services Mortality Reviews," December 10, 2025. ↩
    8. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, News Releases. ↩
    9. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, "Condemned Incarcerated People Who Have Died Since 1978." ↩
    10. Nigel Duara and Jeremia Kimelman, CalMatters, "California jails are holding thousands fewer people, but far more are dying in them," March 25, 2024. ↩
    11. California Penal Code section 10008 (text as updated January 1, 2025, via California Public Law). ↩
    12. California Senate Committee on Public Safety, analysis of AB 2761 (McCarty), hearing June 21, 2022. ↩
    13. California Senate Committee on Public Safety, analysis of AB 2531 (Bryan), hearing June 11, 2024. ↩
    14. Board of State and Community Corrections, In-Custody Death Review, "County Death in Custody Information." ↩
    15. The Almanac, "State opens jail death review office; county cases under scrutiny," May 7, 2025. ↩
    16. U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, "Detainee Death Reporting." ↩
    17. California Attorney General, "Attorney General Bonta Sounds Alarm on Inhumane Conditions at Adelanto Detention Center," March 19, 2026. ↩
    18. The Washington Daily News, front page, November 27, 1933 (Library of Congress, Chronicling America). ↩
    19. James Madison University Libraries, Memorializing Racial Terror: Lynching Markers in the United States, "St. James Park." ↩
    20. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, "Number of Executions 1893 to Present." ↩
    21. Brown v. Plata, 563 U.S. 493 (2011), opinion of the Court (Legal Information Institute). ↩
    22. Office of Governor Gavin Newsom, "Governor Gavin Newsom Orders a Halt to the Death Penalty in California," March 13, 2019. ↩
    23. CNN Newsource (via ABC 17), "Covid-19 outbreak at San Quentin was triggered by 'deeply flawed' detainee transfers, watchdog says," February 4, 2021. ↩
    24. California State Auditor, "San Diego County Sheriff's Department: It Has Failed to Adequately Prevent and Respond to the Deaths of Individuals in Its Custody," Report 2021-109, February 3, 2022. ↩
    25. California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, "Condemned Inmate Transfer Program." ↩

    The 1,550 California records here draw on 3,439 news reports from 496 outlets, mostly local newspapers and TV stations. Each person’s reports are listed with their story, so every detail can be traced to where it was published.

    How these records were made · See these records in a table

    Last updated October 22, 2026.