Deaths in Custody
Massachusetts

At least 737 people have died in custody in Massachusetts

95 of them are recorded here one by one, 79 by name. Another 642 are known only as numbers: deaths the official yearly counts report, for the same years, beyond the people recorded here.

Each dot is one of them, held in a jail, prison or lockup, or executed by the state. Some died after abuse by officers; others from withdrawal, overdose or untreated illness; many by suicide. Almost all of them show the state’s neglect of the people in its custody.

This is an undercount: many deaths are never made public, and older records are hard to find.

Records go back as far as 1820 and are current as of October 19, 2026Get email alerts for Massachusetts

Their stories

0 people, most recent first. Choose a name, or a dot on the map.

    Their names

    When they died

    One mark per person, by the year they died. Choose the box at the side to see every decade. Coverage is uneven: recent deaths come mostly from local news since 2000, older ones from official lists and historical newspapers, so the shape shows what was recorded as much as how many people died.

    What official counts show

    The U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics has published yearly counts of deaths in Massachusetts's state prisons, as the state reported them, for 2001 to 2019, but not who died. Most of those deaths, especially from illness, never appear in the news, so far fewer are named here. The gap is people still to be identified.

    These are the counts the state itself reported to the federal government. The series ends in 2019 and has not been updated since.

    02040602001200520102015201934 reported1 recorded

    Source: The U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics Mortality in State and Federal Prisons, 2001–2019. Official counts are deaths in state prisons only; county jails report to no central agency.

    YearReported by BJSRecorded here
    2019341
    2018420
    2017371
    2016340
    2015341
    2014451
    2013391
    2012421
    2011331
    2010391
    2009292
    2008291
    2007390
    2006390
    2005370
    2004250
    2003301
    2002200
    2001290

    Where these records come from

    Each bar is a source and the years its records cover. Sources checked on a schedule are searched again for new records; the others were collected once.

    1. Local news2000–today · Searched again every night · News coverage searched county by county and year by year
      2000 to today
    2. Official yearly counts (BJS)2001–2019 · Checked every month · Totals only; the agency does not publish names
      2001 to 2019
    3. U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Detainee Death Reporting and List of Deaths in ICE Custody2003–today · Checked every week · Records for this state: 2004–2009
      2003 to today

    What these deaths have cost taxpayers

    These deaths have cost taxpayers in Massachusetts at least $4.9 million: the amount governments have agreed or been ordered to pay the families and estates of at least 5 people recorded here, in settlements and court awards reported in the news. Families sued over at least 14 of these deaths. Many suits end with no amount made public, and many settlements are kept confidential, so the true cost is higher.

    PersonPaid byYearAmount
    Aaron HernandezMassachusetts Department of Correction2021$3 million
    Madelyn LinsenmeirCity of Springfield2025$900,000
    Sam DunnEssex County Sheriff's Department$500,000
    Jimmy DavisonMiddlesex County Sheriff's Office$500,000
    Name not reportednot reported$300,000

    The 95 Massachusetts records here draw on 169 news reports from 73 outlets, mostly local newspapers and TV stations. Each person’s reports are listed with their story, so every detail can be traced to where it was published.

    How these records were made · See these records in a table

    Last updated October 19, 2026.